Downunder: Live in Australia

Live • February 2017 • Buy
Record cover


Recorded live at Continental Café, Melbourne, Australia in March 1998, this memorable recording saw Jansch debut two new (at the time) songs: ‘Downunder’ and ‘My Donald’, as well as ‘Little Max’ which never had a studio outing (but features among the recently discovered home recordings in Earth’s 2017 Living In The Shadows collection).

There is a warmth about this recording which echoes that of Live at The 12 Bar, recorded three years before. It’s mostly just Bert and his guitar, with the welcome addition of intuitively placed flourishes of bass (Pete Howell) and percussion (Ian Clarke). This ambience is heightened by Brian Pyle’s sensitive remastering, bringing a real intimacy to this enduring collection of songs.

This first release on vinyl features 12 tracks and a download code for the complete set of 15 songs found on the CD release.

Track list

  1. Blues Run the Game
  2. Come Back Baby
  3. The Lily of the West
  4. Paper Houses
  5. Toy Balloon
  6. My Donald
  7. Born and Bred in Old Ireland
  8. She Moved Through the Fair
  9. Carnival
  10. Little Max
  11. Strolling Down the Highway
  12. Angie
  13. Curragh of Kildare
  14. Downunder
  15. How It All Came Down


February 2017
Earth Recordings: EARTHLP017 / EARTHCD017
February 2017
Castle Music CMRCD022