Moonshine - remastered

Studio • October 2015 • Buy
Record cover Alternative record cover Alternative record cover


The second of an extensive catalogue of Bert Jansch reissues that will pass through the Earth stable. With an output as far reaching as Bert Jansch's, it's small wonder that the occasional gem would be overlooked. Moonshine - recorded in 1973 - is one such treasure. While the slightly more obvious (and indeed Pentangle-like) albums of 60s Bert are undisputedly wonderful, there is something about the gently brooding style of Moonshine that really resonates. Joined by an all-star cast (Ralph McTell! Mary Hopkin! Tony Visconti!) Jansch's eighth solo album is steeped in tradition, often giving way to a more baroque style of folk music.

Track list

  1. Yarrow
  2. Brought With the Rain
  3. The January Man
  4. Night Time Blues
  5. Moonshine
  6. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  7. Ramble Away
  8. Twa Corbies
  9. Oh My Father


October 2015
Earth Recordings: EARTHLP005 / EARTHCD005